View RSS Feed

need to tell you more about my past so i can get advice about certain things as well as stress relief

Rate this Entry
i never really learned to accept who and what i am in all honesty until recently last week(and yes i see the irony in regards to my name). in fact i might very well be an AB who wants to be a caretaker and just not know it yet as i am still learning about myself. the reason for this is quite a long story but it all ties into my past(i'm 36 now). i know that i have autism(aspergers) but i was diagnosed with this in 2009 when i was 32. the fact of the matter was while there was nothing wrong with me fundamentally when i was born with this it would take work to prevent it from becoming a problem. but how do you work on something that needs it when your not even aware of or understand what this aspect of yourself is? you don't. i was placed in special education classes at an early age because the teachers did not know how to handle me this was in the 80's and autism was not well understood yet. mom and dad however knew i was smart and felt that i handle mainstream classes they where PARTIALLY right i could handle it on a ACADEMIC basis only not a social one. i do not think like a average person and to top it off i have little real fear of things that any regular person would be scared off. other people are afraid of this aspect of me when i finally got into mainstream classes in middle school. i was totally naive and vulnerable to the cruelty of other's in a way that is just tragic. it was like being conditioned from birth to be the perfect victim by the time i got exposed to this way of thinking. even now i only vaguely remember the abuse i had to endure without help from anyone because i was simply unable to try to get to know anyone. this led to a level of depression that only got worse over the next 15 years. mom and dad never helped either as mom thought i was just a free loader who wanted to be taken care of and not have responsibil