View RSS Feed

RadioactiveSquirrel

Payday 2~ (Xbox 360)

Rate this Entry
Hey all, I got bored so I figured I'd try my hand at writing a game review. Again, like blogging, I'm kind of new to this, so if it turns out to be absolutely terrible, then please don't hate me! xD

PayDay 2

This has been a pretty interesting last week of summer vacation for me. I've robbed banks, stole some coke, cooked some meth; I even broke into the Senators house and stole 9 million dollars worth of gold!

Okay... so maybe I didn't actually do most of that stuff, but I did do some of it with a few friends of mine in the newly released Payday 2. Payday 2, for those of you who don't know, is a recently released fps where the player takes the role of the bad guy: The Robber. The gameplay in Payday 2 revolves mostly around the co-op experience (seeing as the A.I. controlling your allies in the single player is about as smart as a wet diaper...).

The level of strategy and coordination required in Payday 2 is pretty amazing, and should be praised. Take the bank level for instance; it's not quite as simple as 'one person goes in the back, and cuts the phone lines while everyone else goes in the front'; I mean sure, you could do it the hard way, and deal with legions of police officers, multiple groups of swat teams and hordes of FBI agents, but doing it the right way requires the 3 C's: Cooperation, Coordination, and Communication.

There are several obstacles standing in the way of your loot, the solid 2.5 foot thick steel vault door being the least of them. The bank has several guards patrolling both the inside and outside of the building. There are also several cameras scattered throughout the parking lot, and interior areas of the building. There are a number of annoying little wall mounted red circles called, 'panic buttons' scattered throughout the building which, if pressed, will sound the alarm.

Did I mention that the locations of all of these variables are randomized each time?