View RSS Feed

The Misadventures of an Adult Little~

I just thought of something...

Rate this Entry
Don't get mad at me for this... since I know people are sick of hearing about autism on here and whatever. It's just something that I thought of while writing my story.

I think the reason there are so many people on the spectrum is because as children, most of us with autism don't experience childhood the same as a normal child. We miss out on that opportunity because of the different wiring of our brains. Autistic children don't usually partake in pretend play or play with toys like normal kids. They line up their toys in a certain order.

I know when I was growing up, I never engaged in pretend play. I was always picking at rocks and stuff. It wasn't until I was between the ages of 12 and 14 that I started playing with my cousins who were around five, six or seven. They loved playing all of the games like house or doctor or even school, and I played those games with them.

Plus, I've heard about other autistic children who are forced to be potty trained when they aren't ready. Others stay in diapers until the age of twelve because of their disability.

I think it's just because we don't gain that inner child until we get older. We realize that once we are more mature, we understand that we didn't get a chance to be like the kids you see today who are playing games, play pretending and all that. I think this has a role in why so many of us are on the spectrum.
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

I think some of things you are saying are very true. I myself never got a long with kids my same age, I ways got a long better with those who where younger. That I think is because of our mental state we where younger than our age.

Having flunked 2nd grad I was always in classes with young kids.

One thing I have come across is the for some of us we also where abused has kids. Not all of us but some. I would been one of those kids.