View RSS Feed

A bit about me and how I got started

Rate this Entry
I'm a little boy who varies between two and four years old but even when I'm four I still wear nappies. I usually wear bright and childish clothing and, even though he rarely comes out of my bag, my large, cuddly teddy bear (Butter) comes everywhere with me. I have a partner who is my daddy, and he's simply delightful! I work as a freelance wine and food writer.I got started with the AB thing a very long time ago, when I was just a B in fact. My earliest memory is just after my third birthday finding some old nappies in a cupboard, pinning them on myself (with extremely limited skill) before struggling to button up my suddenly rather tight shorts. My grandparents were visiting at the time and when I waddled into the sitting room they looked quite amused. My mother was not terribly happy and ordered me not to be so childish. I didn't listen; I've been childish all my life.I didn't wear nappies very often until I went to university, where I suddenly felt liberated, wore nappies a lot of the time and would occasionally walk about in baby clothes. I got asked if I wanted a nappy change on a surprisingly large number of occasions; I should have taken some of the offers up but I was not quite that liberated:o. I stayed on to do a doctorate and would always wear nappies and, unless I was meeting someone serious, baby clothes were my usual attire in the lab.The baby clothes had to go when I got a proper job in London, but I now I'm a freelance writer there is little limit to what I can wear at home. As I have a bit of a reputation for eccentricity in the UK wine world, people are more pleased than surprised if I turn up to a tasting wearing red cords with ducks on and a tie with teddy bears. They've no idea what's under the trousers, of course:o. I get to go on the occasional trip abroad to taste wine and I can recommend carrying a teddy bear when sitting on aircraft - you get propositioned far more often