View RSS Feed

recovery

Mathmatics

Rate this Entry

Quote Originally Posted by UnMarth View Post
Oh another thing I reminded myself on.

Your a true geek if you find this even remotely funny.

I found it quite amusing.

Another joke. There are two cats on the roof. Which one falls off first? - the one with the smallest mu!
I was looking back at a few of my old posts. And this one I found a little amusing. Sad cat joke I know. But I still love it. I used to be so energetic about maths while I was studying it in college. Then again. I had 10 hours teaching on it a week, and another 20 or so outside that. Along With physics I was taking, that had maths too.

Although I felt a little out-nerded by other members posting in the topic. I am just a little sad that now i am in my third year of Uni, that I have got away with little maths learnt from college. The most I do is using transform functions beyond your typical calculus.

These days I don't do much maths, an hour a week if you're lucky! Most of the time I thinking how general systems plug together and operate logically. As well as designing systems to be robust and scalable. Scalability is a big factor when designing software as I don't know quite where it will be implemented and what for. So it takes a lot of thought and logical and general skill to bring complex systems in simplified view.

I still enjoy that, much I certainly miss my maths Although generally my field of work won't revolve around playing with maths a lot. But mostly reading books and generating or implementing algos/maths they have printed in them. A lot of hard work and research has gone into that stuff.

I also enjoyed yesterdays event. It reinforced more what I had read up on. And gave me a much better understanding how to observe and apply certain actions/behaviors. Learnt a fair bit!