View RSS Feed

AnalogRTO

Identifying who I am--ending part

Rate this Entry
Paying my own way through college was tough, but my resolve had been set by the threats made. I refused to ask them for help, though my father was more than helpful and supportive of my decisions. My future wife and I met while I finished my degree, and we had our first two children before I graduated from college.

It should have been obvious that my mom and stepdad wouldn't like my wife, but I was young and not very world-wise. Now, it does not surprise me--my wife was not a choice they made, I didn't follow their desires. My father and his family welcomed her with open arms--that was not a surprise.

It took many years for me to finally stand up and stop the abusive nature of mom and stepdad towards my wife. It was something that was not helping our marriage, and the response at the time hurt, but now makes perfect sense. Phone calls and letters between mom and I revealed to me many things as the parent-child relationship degenerated and finally dissolved for good.

My mother came out and told me that she was sorry she gave birth to me. I gave her a number of chances to apologize, tell me it wasn't what she meant, or any of a number of ways to say it was not the truth. It never happened. Looking back at all the years where I was growing up and being berated for being 'just like my father', it shows how much her bitter divorce and the similarities in my personality and my father's was something she couldn't stand. Together with the way mom seemed to enjoy my dressing as a girl, I now understand that I was a constant reminder of the bitter divorce.